Are you Driving On a Suspended License?
Driving On a Suspended License in Arizona?
Years ago it was possible for undocumented people to get a driver’s license in Arizona without a social security number. That worked for a while, until the law changed requiring people who apply for an Arizona driver license to provide a social security number to verify their identity.
Many undocumented people commonly have their driver license’s suspended because the Motor Vehicle Division or MVD requires people to update their driver license picture every 12 years and with that, a new application must be filled out with a valid social security number. If the driver license application is not renewed or an unverifiable social security number is used on the application, the license will be suspended. Driving on a suspended license is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
The Point System in Arizona
Another way to receive an Arizona driver license suspension is having too many points on your license. If a driver accumulates 8 to 12 points within 12 months, the MVD will order the driver to successfully complete Traffic Survival School in lieu of license suspension. If a driver has already taken Traffic Survival School or is otherwise unable to take the course, then the MVD will suspend the license for 3 months.
If a driver accumulates 13 to 17 points within a 12-month period, the MVD will suspend the license automatically for 3 months. Having 18 to 23 points will result in a 6-month suspension, and 24 points within the past 36 months will result in an automatic 1-year suspension.
When is Traffic School Mandatory?
In Arizona, Traffic Survival School is required for convictions of red light violations, DUI, reckless driving, and other major traffic offenses such as exhibition of speed, and aggressive driving. Traffic Survival School is an 8-hour course that you must take in person.
Below is a chart of some common violations and their associated points:
- DUI – 8 points
- Extreme DUI – 8 points
- Super Extreme DUI – 8 points
- Aggressive driving – 8 points
- Reckless driving – 8 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident – 6 points
- Hit-and-run – 6 points
- Failure to stop for a traffic signal, stop sign or to yield the right-of-way, causing death – 6 points
- Failure to stop for a traffic signal, stop sign or to yield the right-of-way, causing serious injury – 4 points
- Driving over or parking in a gore area – 3 points
- Civil Speeding violation – 3 points
- Red Light violations – 2 points plus Traffic Survival School
- Moving violations – 2 points
For more information please call our offices at: (480) 400-1355 or email us at: firstname.lastname@example.org