86 Miles per Hour and You’re a Criminal?
Did you know that if you drive 86 miles per hour the police can give you a criminal traffic ticket? It’s true, and it’s a Class 3 Misdemeanor which means that a conviction for a criminal traffic ticket for excessive speed could get you sent to jail for 30 days, get fined up to $500, receive 3 points on your driving record, and have a permanent criminal record. Moreover, accumulating 8 or more points on your license during a 12-month period could result in suspending your privilege to drive.
There are 3 ways to receive a criminal speeding ticket:
- Drive in excess of 35 miles per hour approaching a school crossing;
- Exceed the posted speed limit in a business or residential district by more than twenty miles per hour, or if no speed limit is posted, exceed forty-five miles per hour. For example, going 56 miles per hour in a 35 miles per hour zone; and
- Exceed eighty-five miles per hour in other locations. For example, going 86 miles per hour in a 75 miles per hour zone.
Due to the fact that this type of ticket qualifies as a Class 3 Misdemeanor in the State of Arizona, you could be confronted with more problems than you realize just because of a traffic ticket.
Some cities like Scottsdale, Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert, and Phoenix can enhance your citation with 30 days jail time in certain cases if the prosecutor feels that the speed alleged in the case warrants the additional penalty.
Classes of Misdemeanors
There are 3 types of misdemeanors in Arizona. Class 1 Misdemeanors are the most severe. An example of a Class 1 Misdemeanor is DUI, Domestic Violence, and Theft Crimes. Class 2 Misdemeanors include such crimes as reckless driving, and criminal property damage. Class 3 Misdemeanors are the least severe of misdemeanor crimes but they still have heavy fines, court appearances, and the potential for jail time.
It’s best to drive carefully so you don’t have to lie in bed at night thinking about your criminal case – just because you drove 86 miles per hour.
If you would like additional information, please call 480-400-1355. You can also send us an email at [email protected].
Read more articles:
Tempe Police Buy New Vehicles for East Valley DUI Enforcement
Scottsdale Traffic Cameras Back Online
I was mailed a photo speeding ticket for driving 11 miles over the speed limit (56 in a 45 mph zone) while I was visiting Scottsdale last month. How should I proceed?
El Mirage Photoradar Petition to Remove Cameras in the Works